Tennessee Valley Chapter
of the North American Butterfly Association
Snowberry Clearwing Painted Lady Pipevine Swallowtail Dark phase female Eastern Tiger Swallowtail Viceroy Gray Hairstreak Common Wood-Nymph Broad-winged Skipper Black Swallowtail
Local Butterfly Counts

NABA sponsors almost 500 butterfly counts across the United States, Canada and northern Mexico each year. Volunteers count all butterfly species and individuals during a one-day period within a 15 mile diameter circle. The results are then published by NABA. These counts are critical in monitoring butterfly population trends, seasonality and ranges.

Several Fourth of July and Seasonal counts are conducted within a 50 mile radius of Chattanooga, Tennessee by Tennessee Valley NABA members and other interested people. NABA counts are a wonderful opportunity for "citizen science". Check the latest newsletter for information about where and when to meet for any of these.

Tennessee River Gorge, TN
Compiler: Bill Haley
Thursday, April 18, 2019
Spring Seasonal
Soddy-Daisy, TN
Compiler: Bill Haley
Saturday, April 27, 2019
Spring Seasonal
Lookout Mountain, GA
Compiler: Bill Haley
Saturday, May 4, 2019
Spring Seasonal (or fallback for other spring counts)
Tennessee River Gorge, TN
Compiler: Bill Haley
Saturday, June 22, 2019
Soddy-Daisy, TN
Compiler: Bill Haley
Saturday, June 29, 2019
Lookout Mountain, GA
Compiler: Bill Haley
Thursday, July 11, 2019
Stevenson, AL
Compiler: Bill Haley
Saturday, July 13, 2019
Willamsburg, KY
Compiler: Bill Haley
Sunday, July 21, 2019
Tennessee River Gorge, TN
Compiler: Bill Haley
Thursday, August 8, 2019
Fall Seasonal
Soddy-Daisy, TN
Compiler: Bill Haley
Saturday, August 24, 2019
Fall Seasonal
Lookout Mountain, GA
Compiler: Bill Haley
Thursday, September 5, 2019
Fall Seasonal